

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

The National Puerto Rican Chamber of Commerce (NPRCC)

Wednesday, September 28th, 2022 - Washington, D.C. - The National Puerto Rican Chamber of Commerce (NPRCC) commends Congressional Leaders on their efforts to request a one-year exemption from The Jones Act for Puerto Rico as it finds itself recovering from the devastation after Hurricane Fiona.

On September 19th, 2022, eight members of Congress, Nydia M. Velazquez (D-NY), Jesus G. "Chuy" Garcia (D-IL), Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-NY), Juan Vargas (D-CA), Ritchie Torres (D-NY), Raul M. Grijalva (D-AZ), Carolyn B. Maloney (D-NY), Adriano Espaillat (D-NY), co-signed a letter to Secretary of Homeland Security, Alejandro Mayorkas requesting he approve a one-year waiver from The Jones Act for Puerto Rico.

"The NPRCC supports this measure, as we believe it's a vital step towards allowing Puerto Rico to rebuild itself after Hurricane Fiona. Puerto Rico's infrastructure was already fragile after multiple hurricanes, earthquakes, a global pandemic, and a decade of austerity measures. The Jones Act restricts Puerto Rico's vital services to U.S. vessels and imposes a very heavy and inequitable cost burden on the people of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. While the NPRCC has publicly advocated for the elimination of The Jones Act altogether, we do believe a one-year is a step in the right direction." said NPRCC National Director of Operations, Joel Berrocal.

###

WWW.NPRCHAMBER.ORG 1629 K St NW, Suite 300, Washington, D.C. 20006